About me

As a Cultural Care local childcare consultant (LCC), I invite our host families and au pairs as well as those considering Cultural Care Au Pair to explore my site and learn about what is going on in our community. I provide year-round support to host families and au pairs, and also talk to families considering the program to help them determine if Cultural Care Au Pair is the right childcare solution for them.

Growing up in a diverse neighborhood in Michigan, I was fascinated with learning about other cultures. As a teenager, I established pen pal friendships with young people from England, Scotland, Greece, India and New Caledonia. In college, I studied International Relations, French, Spanish and German. I also participated in four off-campus study opportunities travelling to Quebec, the Middle East and Europe. I also interned for a member of Canadian Parliament in Ottawa and for the Department of State in Washington, DC. I returned to the Washington, DC area a year after I graduated and have been living in DC and Virginia ever since. In May 2011, I received my Master’s in International Education from George Washington University.

Studying abroad while in college was a truly transformative experience. Since then, I have pursued a career in international education and cultural exchange, enjoying the opportunity to help others learn about other countries and cultures. I live with my husband Tim, a software engineer, and my very active and imaginative young sons.

My hobbies include reading, baking, photography, travel, genealogy, hiking and exploring with my family all the wonderful cultural and outdoor activities that the metro DC area offers!

I feel Cultural Care Au Pair offers families the unique opportunity to participate in a cultural exchange while also meeting their childcare needs.